Thoughts on Mental Illness….

I’m SO mad!!!!  I can’t express how angry….My family has a long history of mental illness.  Alcohol and drugs the pain killers of choice.  But there’s also food, cigarettes, gambling as solace.  What we don’t do is talk about it.  Another tragic, untimely death in the family and we can’t talk about it.  Does it make sense to sweep this death under the carpet of silence?  My feeling is that it adds to the tragedy, makes it even more senseless and does not acknowledge the pain that lead to this death.  The loss of his mother the same way – she was once a great mother until Oxycontin got it’s ugly hands on her – and now her troubled son.  Taking drugs to escape for just a little while only to wake up and realize nothing’s changed, the pain is still there.  We (my husband and I) tried to intervene when this young man was a child but were soundly reprimanded, made to feel like we abused him when we wouldn’t let him do whatever he wanted, made him suffer consequences for really terrible behaviour.  I received a letter that I have to this day (but haven’t read for years) telling us what terrible people we are.   Made to feel in the wrong when we got angry when he nearly drowned our daughter while “playing” by splashing and dunking her in a pool until she couldn’t breathe and was panicking.  How dare we take him out of the pool!!!  Not disciplining a child will never lead to a well-adjusted adult.

God rest your soul – say hello to your mother for me.  I hope she’s happy that by getting you hooked on her medications she now has your company for all eternity.  And if we want to be honest,the addiction started long before the mother with a neighbourly older “friend” that my sister looked up to.  This woman who handed out her diet pills to my young, impressionable sister.  Another family destroyed because this mother got several of her children hooked on drugs – first cold syrup to make them sleep during the day after she’d been up the whole night from the high of her drugs – and then whatever else she was hooked on.

When is it going to end?  Who will have the courage to speak up?  I’m already hated enough in this family for speaking the truth, I don’t have anything to lose so perhaps it will be me.

Leave a comment